EES – Energy Engineering and Science

The EES Thrust Area’s focus is to understand, develop, and apply the basic principles of science and engineering to the very broad field of energy. We use these principles to develop technologies for the efficient and sustainable use and conversion of energy with the goal of meeting the challenges posed by dwindling resources, rising prices, and environmental impacts.

Teaching and research include the following disciplines: equilibrium and non-equilibrium thermodynamics, heat transfer, fluid dynamics, aerodynamics, materials, and combustion and fire dynamics.

Applications at all scales from the microscopic to the macroscopic include: energy storage (e.g., batteries, metal hydrides, pump storage, super-capacitors, etc.), fuel cells, propulsion, turbo-machinery, renewable energy, thermoelectric and solar energy harvesting, multi-disciplinary design analysis and optimization of grid/micro-grid and high performance aircraft and stationary systems, etc.

Numerous multi- and cross-disciplinary collaborations between faculty and students exist within the EES Thrust Area and across thrust areas and new ones are always being encouraged due to the pervasiveness of energy and its impact on all mechanical engineering disciplines and applications.

Without a doubt, ENERGY is the future and through innovation, we will help to invent it.

EES Areas of Research Study

Combustion and Fire Dynamics
Equilibrium Thermodynamics
Fluid Mechanics
Heat Transfer
Non-Equilibrium Thermodynamics

EES Specific Research Applications include:

Energy Storage
Fuel Cells and Batteries
Multi-Disciplinary Design Analysis and Optimization
Renewable Energy
Thermo-Electric and Solar Energy Harvesting

Faculty with EES as Primary Research Area

Jiangtao Cheng
Clint Dancey
Tom Diller
Michael Ellis
Scott Huxtable
Zheng Li
Doug Nelson
Wing Ng
John Palmore Jr.
Mark Paul
Ranga Pitchumani
Rui Qiao
Changmin Son
Danesh Tafti
Brian Vick
Michael von Spakovsky

Faculty with EES as a Secondary Research Area

Chunmei Ban
Bahareh Behkam
Jonathan Boreyko
Ricardo Burdisso
Juliana Duarte
Ali Haghighat
Celine Hin
Kevin Kochersberger
Yang Liu
Roop Mahajan
Reza Mirzaeifar
Mark Pierson
Steve Southward
Saied Taheri
Chris Williams
Jinsuo Zhang
Lei Zuo